D&D 5E - Twinning Dragons Breath Spells?

I think this is a more of a gut-reaction to the balance problem, rather than rules-as-written analysis.

E.g. "can these be twinned":

  • a spell that does AoE slashing damage - NO
  • A spell that gives the caster-only claws - NO
  • A spell that gives any one creature touched claws that do damage - YES
  • A spell that turns any one creature into a lion - YES
  • A spell that gives any one creature touched a breath weapon/gaze attack/AoE - (meltdown)
Claws obviously can affect multiple creatures over time, especially if cast on a fighter. Are they the "target"? Well, no, the person who gets the claws is the target.

I personally think the meltdown is "But with Dragon's Breath there are Saves! The creatures that make Saves from a spell must be the target....right?"

And that's silly. Polymorph can get a form with a knockdown attack which has saves and yet Polymorph is clearly in the "ok to twin" category

ncG1vNJzZmivp6x7prrWqKmlnF6kv6h706GpnpmUqHy1w8inpaKml2Kxs63GqKWsZZKnsqLAx2aqqZ2cocBvg49paXJvXw%3D%3D